Run, Cook, Eat!


20 miles! But, ow.
March 31, 2010, 10:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

This last week has been kind of a roller coaster of running highs and lows. I’m not sure what’s going on with my foot, and the doctor was not incredibly useful. In short, the pain got much better in the 4 days before the doctor’s visit, and he gave me the OK to run on it. I did 5k the next day with no pain, so I did my 20 mile long run on Sunday.

During the run my foot ended up being not so bad, and I was super relieved that I could do the run. I wanted company for some of the run, and the only way to make the timing work out was by starting at 12:30 PM on Sunday, doing 10 miles by myself, then meeting up with my two running partners for the last 10 miles together.

Good lord it was hot out. I know I’m a huge wimp for complaining about it being too hot…I’m completely spoiled by the steady San Francisco climate. But due to our wonderful fog and grey skies and constant winter-high-of-56-degrees, I’ve gotten used to running in my preferred gloomy and not-warm weather. Seriously. I get annoyed if the sun is out, or if it’s warmer than 60 degrees. I’m s-p-o-i-l-e-d.

But anyway, I have yet to develop a good tolerance or sense of pacing for running in warm weather or sunshine. So why in the word have my 18 milers and 20 milers during this training cycle have been in 68 degree weather? I do not understand.

Anyway, it was warm, I ran too fast, but I compensated by drinking a lot of water. I met up with my friends around mile 9.5, and fortunately that slowed me down to a conversation-friendly pace. The first 9 miles I spent cursing my life, but it immediately got better once I had friends as a distraction. Foot started aching a bit around mile 17 but I finished without incident.

I’m pretty happy with how the 20 miler turned out. It’s the furthest I’ve ever run, so I’m thrilled I made it to the end without dying. I’m lucky to have such great running company to help me make it through.

Unfortunately the next day the foot pain returned, but nowhere near the same level as last week. I’m heading to Fleet Feet now for advice/inserts/etc, and I’ll follow up at the doctor again if that doesn’t help. Sigh…trying to stay optimistic…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

