Run, Cook, Eat!


Out for the count…
March 24, 2010, 6:51 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Last Sunday I ran the Emerald Across the Bay 12k and had a great time! Race report forthcoming. But sadly, I fear I am now injured.

Since Monday morning I’ve been experiencing a sharp pinpoint of pain on the top of my right foot, on the inner side near the base of my big toe. It doesn’t bother me at all when barefoot, but when wearing shoes (running shoes included) I feel pain on that exact spot. This sucks. I’m pretty distressed.

I suspect it was caused by one of a few things:

  • The notable big hill on the 12k course – up from ocean level to bridge level, and then back down again.
  • Heavy mileage that week – an 18 mile long run, a 10 mile tempo run, and the 12k/7.45 mi, all over the course of 5 days.
  • A badly positioned Nike+ sensor combined with tightly laced running shoes.

I’ve been icing and taking anti-inflammatories, but my test jog on Tuesday only got me ~0.75 miles before the pain said “STOP!”. The doctor appointment has been made for Friday, but until then I can only rest, worry, and obsessively google “top of foot pain.”

The obsessive googling has led to two “internet diagnoses” – a stress fracture or tendonitis. Neither of which are appealing, but tendonitis seems to be slightly more appealing in that it is not an immediate death sentence for my goal to run the Eugene Marathon in May.

Hopefully it will be neither of these things, it will clear up on its own, and I’ll be good to go in a few days. I’m hoping yoga tonight will distract me by getting in a workout that avoids foot pain. Let the waiting and worrying continue…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ugh. These were exactly my symptoms for my stress fracture. Top of foot pain, no pain while barefoot, Pain that starts about 0.5-1 mile into a run etc…

Either way it takes 2 weeks for a stress fracture to turn up on an xray (when it starts to heal basically)

If it’s early enough it might just be a ‘stress reaction’ which could keep you off for like 2-3 weeks instead of 6-8.

I hear if you take up aqua jogging you won’t lose much/any running fitness. It’s dorky, but it seems to work. So maybe all is not lost! Just, you know, you might have to do some 4+ hour aqua jogging sessions…?

Lots of vitamin D time?

*Crossing my fingers for something less serious*

Comment by Yael

A few more things that might help no matter what you have.

Stiff shoes that prevent your toes from bending (They gave me this post-op shoe at one point that was helpful) will probably help no matter what you have?

http://www.walgreens.com/store/catalog/Braces-and-Supports/Post-Op-Shoe-Soft-Top,-For-Men/ID=prod2602697&navCount=1&navAction=push-product?V=G&ec=frgl_&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=sku2602134

I used my most supportive running shoe for the whole time that I was healing from my fracture.

Maybe try a different style of lacing for your shoes?
http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-267–12334-0,00.html#

My stress fracture was in the shaft of my 3rd metatarsal so the parallel lacing helped A LOT.

Comment by Yael

Hi Yael, thanks for the feedback! The pain has lessened considerably, and the doctor gave me the OK to run. He commented that there would be swelling if it were a stress fracture, and that it wouldn’t have lessened that noticeably in 4 days.

It’s still tender on the top of the foot while wearing shoes, but bearably so. I did 3 miles on Friday, and the tenderness disappeared after a mile. I’m attempting a long run today.

I’m definitely going to try those lacing ideas, and I’m gonna keep up the stiff shoes and vitamin D…crossing my fingers this continues to get better.

Comment by christinamariejohnson




Leave a Reply

