Run, Cook, Eat!


Macaron Class
January 4, 2010, 7:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

On Saturday I took advantage of the massive free time that comes with the holidays and I took a macaron-making class at Baking Arts in SOMA. It was really wonderful, and definitely worth it to learn to make a moderately complicated treat. Richard – the instructor – was incredibly kind and a great teacher. I’d love to come back and take the croissant class soon. Some photos from my macaron-baking adventure:

DSC_9243
Our sample to start the class.

DSC_9256
Our wonderful instructor Richard.

DSC_9261
Piping.

DSC_9284
Now we try it ourselves – here’s the almond flour, egg white, and powdered sugar mixture.

DSC_9286
Next you add the meringue.

DSC_9300
Piping practice.

DSC_9296
Sprinkled with espresso powder and ready for baking…

DSC_9319
I made this!

DSC_9328
The macarons I made even have feet! Success!

DSC_9331
My filled macarons.

DSC_9343
Finished and ready to go home. No, I did not eat them all immediately!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

these look beautiful! can you post or email me the recipe?

Comment by brigitte




Leave a Reply

