Run, Cook, Eat!


Emergency Blender.
January 2, 2010, 8:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Last night’s dinner was somewhat simple but really fantastic! My CSA has been sending pounds and pounds of butternut squash, so it was time to actually cook one of the four squash looming on my counter.

For the most part I dislike winter squash, since the texture is baby food-like, and the flavors associated with it are often too sweet for me. But I used Slashfood’s recipe – Butternut Squash and Roasted Garlic Bisque – and I think I’ve been converted.

I followed the instructions for the most part, using 2 whole heads of roasted garlic (not 2 cloves, 2 HEADS), but I subbed in apple for the carrot due to my poor planning, and I used a dollop of greek yogurt on top when served instead of whipping cream. The fresh chopped sage absolutely made the dish, so it’s worth it to go out of your way and use fresh.

The high point of making this meal? Using the new immersion blender (yes we call it an emergency blender, coined by a Berliner friend) J received as a Christmas gift from his folks. Super easy. The low point? CUTTING UP THE STUPID SQUASH. It took me around 20 minutes just to get the one ginormous squash into 1 inch cubes.

I served the soup with homemade garlic potato bread (from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day), and a pomegranate almond salad.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

