Run, Cook, Eat!


Farmer’s Market, 8/24/09, etc.
August 24, 2009, 1:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This week’s farmer’s market trip was the BEST I’ve had in awhile. I’ve been missing my regular trips due to a mix of weekends out of town, long runs, and other life things. But just in time for tomato season, I’M BACK.

V and I planned this weekend’s long run to do part of the Nike Women’s Half Marathon route in reverse, ending at the Ferry Building. Our 10 mile route had a lot of hills, but we started early enough and the outer half of the city was wonderfully cold and foggy. We made it to the farmer’s market just before noon to meet a few friends.

This week’s purchases:

  • 4 lbs of dry-farmed early girl tomatoes from Dirty Girl Farms – This means summer is here! These are the most amazing tomatoes in the world, even better than heirlooms. Due to lack of (or limited?) watering, they’re smaller and less watery, therefore incredibly intense in taste. These make my life have meaning. The arrival of these tomatoes is my favorite part of the summer.
  • Burrata – Ms. T and I bought this lovely creamy heavenly mozzarella & cream creation, with plans of making bruschetta with the dry-farmed early girls. Possibly my favorite food in the world.
  • 1 French heirloom melon – This guy was just the right size for me to cut up and eat in two sittings. It tasted like cantaloupe.
  • Acme herb slab bread
  • 1 lb Brussels sprouts – The farmer said it was the first week for these. I haven’t cooked them yet, but they look nice and tiny and firm.
  • Beets – Ms. T and I have never cooked beets before, so we’re going to give it a try on Thursday!
  • Blue Lake green beans – These plus some tomatoes and leftover peppers became a pasta salad for Sunday’s water park adventures.

In other news, my running schedule has ramped up in advance of the half marathon in October, and I’m debating writing about it more in this blog. We’ll see how it turns out, but I’ve been reading lots of running blogs lately to keep my enthusiasm up. Hence thinking writing about it may help as well! Plus the purchase of a scale (ugh) and trying to juggle my calorie intake makes me feel like my running and eating are getting more and more connected.

On that note, I had a great 11 mile run earlier last week, at a personal best pace for a long run – averaging 9:54 min/mi. My IT band has been hurting since Saturday’s hilly run, but I’m going to see how tomorrow’s tempo run goes and then decide how to proceed. J’s out of town for lots of weeks, so I’m hoping to feel good enough to focus on my running (side note – and baking!) in the immediate future.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

