Run, Cook, Eat!


Farm Fresh to You CSA Box – Week of 7/28/09
August 20, 2009, 12:06 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Not much to say about last week’s CSA box. Due to various travels, we didn’t use as much of it as I would have liked. So it goes.

  • 2 lbs heirloom tomatoes – Primarily used in salads.
  • 1 Galla melon – This spoiled before I got a chance to cut it open.
  • 1 lb grapes – Good. I ate them. Nothing fancy.
  • 1 eggplant – Lord, this was the biggest eggplant I’ve ever seen. It was about twice the size of your average grocery store globe eggplant. I wanted to use this up before I left on my trip, so I threw it on the stove, planning to do Mark Bittman’s Dry Pan Eggplant recipe and then make baba ganoush when I got back. According to the recipe, it’s supposed to take 20-30 min. 50 min later, it wasn’t finished so I stuck it in the fridge half cooked. Upon returning two days later, I resumed the dry pan eggplant to no avail, then gave up and threw it in the oven until it was suitably cooked. I made baba ganoush with it this morning, and it was delicious. I’ll post the recipe soon.
  • 1 lb summer squash – Still in the fridge.
  • 1 head green leaf lettuce – I brought this (plus the tomatoes and peppers) into work and made a big salad for lunch for everyone.
  • 1/2 lb peppers – Salad.

Anyway, not much to report. I’m halfway through Baked’s recipe for Sweet and Salty cake – the cake is cooling as we speak. I’ll report back tomorrow once it is complete. Also planned in the near future – early girl tomatoes from Dirty Girl Produce, and a big batch of gazpacho. Yay tomato season!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

