Run, Cook, Eat!


More cookbooks!

My incredibly thoughtful friends and family gave me all sorts of great food-related gifts for my birthday, not the least being 7 different amazing cookbooks from J.

Vegan Soul Food, which I mentioned last week, was just the first of many books to show up in the mail over the course of two weeks. There’s definitely a baking/sweets bent to J’s selections, with a hint of vegan. Here’s what I’ll be exploring the next few months:

  • Baked: New Frontiers in Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito – I hadn’t heard of their popular Red Hook bakery until this book showed up, but I’ll definitely be making a point to stop by next time I’m in New York. It’s a nice selection of recipes, with many taking new approach on classic American favorites (ie Root Beer Bundt Cake). I’ve already tried their granola recipe (post forthcoming), and I’m looking forward to trying the Sweet and Salty Cake, the brownies, and lots more. The photography and graphic design in this book is stunning.
  • Babycakes by Erin McKenna – I accidentally discovered Babycakes – an impressive vegan and gluten free bakery in New York – two years ago while wandering in New York with the guy I was dating at the time. The cute storefront pulled me in, and soon I figured out that the boyfriend had NEVER HAD A CUPCAKE. (His excuse was he was not from the USA.) That was soon remedied. Anyway, aside from the pleasant memories associated with the shop, the cookbook looks good. Some extra work is needed to procure special veganlicious ingredients before I can bake much from this, though.
  • Eat Me: The Food and Philosophy of Kenny Shopsin by Kenny Shopsin and Carolynn Carreno – Rounding out the New York cookbook portion of the gifts is this clever memoir/cookbook from Kenny Shopsin. Their menu looks like a Dr. Bonner’s label (hundreds of items in tiny type), you have to follow their rules a la Soup Nazi, and the food is quirky and delicious. First up to attempt to replicate – macaroni and cheese pancakes. Other items to try – slutty cakes, ho cakes.
  • Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz – Ok, I lied, this gets New York points too. But she doesn’t have a restaurant, sadly. Anyway – Ms. Moskowitz is half of the team responsible for Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, the cookbook that convinced me of the amazing potential contained in vegan baked goods. Yum yum yum.
  • The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz – My ice cream maker has not been used enough this season. And David Lebovitz is one of my favorite bloggers. So this cookbook is a much-needed acquisition. There’s all sorts of stuff in here that fits my odd-flavor-tendencies, such as Roquefort and Honey ice cream. Yufei recommends the saffron ice cream recipe.
  • Baking: From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan – Finally, a baking bible has entered my collection. As the summer fruit season hit full-swing, I realized I don’t have a go-to book for pies, crisps, cobblers, and other baked goods. So this is great to receive! I haven’t flipped through much yet (it’s BIG!) but it will be handy, no doubt.
    Leave a Comment so far
    Leave a comment



    Leave a Reply

