Run, Cook, Eat!


Vanilla Cauliflower Poached in Almond Milk
July 18, 2009, 6:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I’m not a huge fan of cauliflower. More often than not, the veggies I was served as a child were of the frozen peas/carrots/cauliflower/broccoli variety. So generally, cauliflower is not on my table or in my tummy unless it’s raw and served on a vegetable and dip platter.

But a few weeks ago, the theme for my cooking group was “savory cocoa dishes.” Hmm. After some reading, I settled on a cocoa braised cauliflower recipe, to be posted later. But I’d bought an extra cauliflower, and was thus forced to prepare cauliflower AGAIN.

Which led me to the Vanilla Cauliflower Poached in Almond Milk recipe, adapted from J’s “Homemade in a Hurry” cookbook by Andrew Schloss. It turned out to be a very curious recipe. I thought the cauliflower tasted like marshmallows. To me, this is a minus, but to J (and probably any small child) that is a big big plus. Very very curious.

Vanilla Cauliflower Poached in Almond Milk

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1.5 c almond milk (I used sweetened)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 ts vanilla extract

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine all ingredients except cauliflower in a small casserole dish that’s just big enough to hold the cauliflower. Place the head of cauliflower upside-down in the almond milk and bake until slightly browned, about 35 minutes. Turn over the cauliflower and baste with some of the almond milk from the dish. Bake for another 30 minutes or so – basting 3-4 more times – until the cauliflower is browned and soft. Remove cauliflower from dish. Cut into wedges and serve.

Verdict: I’m unsure if I’ll make this again. It had a nice but a distinctively sweet taste. I would make it again if I found the right main course pairing, or if I were bribing small children to eat their veggies.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

