Run, Cook, Eat!


Fresh Cheese (Ricotta), The Easy Way
May 24, 2009, 9:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Yesterday I made homemade ricotta, using Mark Bittman’s recipe in How To Cook Everything Vegetarian. I’ve made this a few times, in addition to dabbling with another fresh cheese recipe from the internet. This one uses buttermilk as the curdling agent, and the other unsuccessful recipe used lemon juice, so I’ve returned to the trusty Bittman book. I want to experiment with lemon juice, and other kinds of milk as well.

But for now, the Bittman recipe works like a charm. I made a few changes this time – I waited until it was a lot less “curdled”, ie less firm lumps/separation of the curds and whey, and I strained it for only 10 minutes. This resulted in less cheese, but a more tender ricotta-like cheese. I’ll probably continue to play with these variables in the future.

Verdict: Make again! Tasty and easy. But it will be worth it to try new recipes as well

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

