Run, Cook, Eat!


Baked Rhubarb with Fresh Ricotta
May 24, 2009, 11:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Cooking group tonight is based on an odd set of seasonal food guidelines and limitations, so I decided to futz around with homemade ricotta, cherries, rhubarb, toasted almonds, and balsamic vinegar. The cherry experiment (made up from my head) was far too sweet, so I found a few recipes for rhubarb on Orangette’s blog and gave this one a go.

Right now I’m only marginally happy with the results. The rhubarb cooked just fine, but the sauce never became syrupy, despite nearly an hour of boiling. I sampled it with my homemade ricotta this morning, and the sauce was really watery. I drizzled a bit of balsamic over it, which tasted good. I may attempt to re-boil the juices plus some balsamic later today. I just REALLY hope it doesn’t ruin the sauce, as I don’t have time to cook again before tonight’s dinner.

Side note – this recipe finally gave me the momentum to buy a microplane zester. Yay!

Verdict: probably don’t make again if needing a syrupy sauce. Although the rhubarb itself came out well. Next time, I will try the rhubarb compote instead.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

